Flight Review: Hong Kong to London Heathrow on British Airways World Traveller Plus

Flight Info

BA26

HKG-LHR

14 FEB 2015

2330-0450+1 (13h 20m)

Seat 64A (World Traveller Plus, aka Premium Economy)

A380-800

Check in

No priority lines for World Traveller Plus and it was Chinese New Year peak season, so I was stuck in the line for almost 30 minutes. It was not a pleasant experience despite I did online check in.

Unlike Cathay, BA does not offer seat selection at booking for Premium Economy, which forced me pay a sum of money when there is only one window seat left.

On board

Boarding was fine. Priority line for World Traveller Plus here, so I was able to board really quickly. Gate 15 for the day, so just right outside security.

Welcome drink in a plastic cup…

IMG_8520

PTV in good size and looks posh, also appreciated the two USB ports

IMG_8521

View from my seat. Gate 16 is the BA departure 10 minutes later

IMG_8522

Pre supper cocktail service: Red wine and water for me. The snack was okay.

IMG_8523

Dinner service: They forgot to load the menu so now menu. The starter was standard. The main was a huge problem – I could not cut through the steak – what’s the point of having steak if you cannot chew through it? I gave up after a few trials. The dessert, again, was box standard. Nothing to write home about.

IMG_8525

Too tired by this point that I elected to fall asleep. But I was hungry by the middle of the night – because I did not eat much dinner. Snack offering from the gallery:

IMG_8526

A movie would kill some time…

IMG_8527

Breakfast, again, looks troublesome. Potato had excessive flavours and the presentation is just horrible.

IMG_8528

Sorry for the lack of pictures, but I was very tired on this red eye flight and the flight experience did not really refresh me.

Verdict and Conclusion

Catering: was not good. No menu for PEY long haul and the two meals were both, at best, edible, or plainly unappealing.

Seat: was very good. It looks modern and recline is good. I did not sleep very well in it, though.

Service: was good. Crews were not that proactive but were good at doing their jobs – giving out meals and drinks.

IFE: was very good. Posh, modern and easy to navigate. And a very good collection of movies.

Ground at HKG: was fine. Would much prefer priority check-in for PEY.

Overall: was good. For a PEY offering, BA did a solid job – much more comfortable than Economy but not very competitive among the other carriers that offer PEY. I did not pay too much of a premium (~£30), so I would gladly take the upgrade, but any more than £100, I would probably think twice.

 

Leave a Reply

