Undoubtedly the Best Business Class

The offering of Singapore Airlines on its flagship service from London to Singapore on its 3-class 777-300ER with next-generation products is indeed a class on its own. I would not doubt the business class, which I flew in, is on par with many First Class products out there in the market, if not surpasses them.

The next generation product combines class with functionality. It has taken in the things that needed improvements from the old business class.

I started my trip from Cambridge – arriving into the Central Bus Station with my suitcases

IMG_1364

IMG_1365

The Queen’s Terminal!

IMG_1380

Premium check-in area for SQ – took me 1 minute to complete check-in. Not a busy time 5 hours before the first evening departures for SQ!

IMG_1383

IMG_1387

Priority tagged

IMG_1384

Fast track security available – was a breeze, through security in 5 minutes

IMG_1395

I did some lounge-hopping – please refer to my previous posts for reviews.

SQ319 at Gate B38 today! Slightly delayed departure due to incoming aircraft delay (due to technical issues)

IMG_1561

Boarding gate “boarding” with no one manning the gate… mysterious

IMG_1567

Priority lines not engaged yet – but I was in line then, making me the first passenger to board the aircraft

IMG_1569

Door B (Door A not used due to the flight not being an A380)

IMG_1574

IMG_1575

The new First Class

IMG_1576

First glance at my seat – 11A – first Business seat. The bulkhead seat features an ottoman rather than a hole for the feet, making this the widest bed in the aircraft, and definitely a seat that is an industry leader. I also like how far away the BIG TV is from me – makes TV watching much more pleasant.

IMG_1577

IMG_1579

IMG_1580

IMG_1581

Menu already there

IMG_1583

Another view

IMG_1584

IMG_1585

Mini J cabin in front of the main J cabin – I think this offers much privacy but on a flight half full like today’s, the mini J cabin would still be 100% full. So, it’s mainly luck…

IMG_1586

Reading material offered

IMG_1587

IMG_1593

Welcome drinks!

IMG_1590

I took a water and Champagne

IMG_1591

Hot towel (and my phone)

IMG_1592

Flight map preview

IMG_1594

Spotted a Lufthansa plane in special livery!

IMG_1596

IMG_1601

Safety demonstration video

IMG_1603

How to make the bed video!

IMG_1616

The legroom is gigantic

IMG_1624

View on take-off

IMG_1630

One major problem with SQ is the lack of amenity kit – but the amenities provided are of very good qualities

IMG_1632

Gotta love the new IFE! Movie time

IMG_1645

IMG_1646

Post-take off drinks: Jubilee Lining

A zesty cocktail created with orange liqueur, vodka, pineapple juice, topped with soda

IMG_1635

Thus begins a five-course dinner

Canape: Singapore Chicken and Beef Satay with onion, cucumber and spicy peanut sauce

IMG_1640

Bottled water distributed (weird service sequence but probably in reaction to many passengers opting to sleep rather than continuing with the long-winded dinner service, like my neighbour at 11D)

IMG_1651

Table set

IMG_1653

Appetiser: Smoked Salmon with young romaine hearts, parmesan cheese and, creamy anchory-garlic dressing.

IMG_1655

Garlic bread

IMG_1656

Champagne

IMG_1658

My verdict? Excellent

IMG_1659

Main course: Seared Beef Fillet with Madeira Sauce with roasted vegetable and asparagus

IMG_1660

Cooked to perfection

IMG_1662

Slight complaint is the turbulence – my Chablis White nearly spilled

IMG_1664

At this time, we are north of Rome

IMG_1665

A sight for the next how many hours

IMG_1667

Selection of Cheese

IMG_1670

Fruit basket – the strawberries were extra sweet

IMG_1671

Dessert No. 1: Moscato Jelly with mango and lychee salad, creme fraiche – elaborate, light and tasty

IMG_1673

Dessert No. 2: Haagen Dazs Vanilla Ice Cream with cherry compote

IMG_1676

Parlines

IMG_1679

Tea with milk

IMG_1680

Verdict of dinner service: Outstanding, everything is cooked up to a very high standard. It was very filling. Water was topped up constantly and wine, too. The steak was a surprise – I have had steak on BA before and it was so chewy. I was delighted by the offer of a second dessert. Slight let-down was the cheese – the cheese plate was pre-arranged so could not choose.

Daybreak after 3 hours of sleep

IMG_1683

Just north of Tehran at this moment and 7 hours to go

IMG_1691

IMG_1693

Clouds like sea

IMG_1693

Watching Major Crimes

IMG_1709

I was hungry (again!) so asked for some snacks

Coke Zero

IMG_1712

Another drink: Apple Bliss: Apple Juice, Bitter Lemon and 7-Up; with crisps

IMG_1713

Because of the seat belt sign, my chicken noodles have to wait. In 1.5 hours, it was served. To be fair, it’s just instant noodles, but it feels good to have something warm in my stomach.

IMG_1714

With an iced Mocha

IMG_1715

IMG_1717

My duvet – so comfortable and a good fit for cabin temperature, too

IMG_1719

Another cup of coffee to keep me going – trying to battle jetlag

IMG_1723

My seat or my bed

IMG_1725

IMG_1726

Then I went around the cabin, and found 14K to be empty. So I sat down and snapped a few pictures of the engine prior to the breakfast service

IMG_1730

Around 1.5 hours prior to landing, the lights were turned on, and breakfast was served. More passengers partook in the breakfast service, but some remained asleep.

IMG_1734

Peach smoothie

IMG_1735

Table set

IMG_1738

Sliced Fresh Fruit of the Season, Croissant, Orange Juice with Coffee

IMG_1739

Breakfast in bed!!!

IMG_1740

Finally – strawberry jam found in SQ Business

IMG_1741

Appetiser: Strawberry Yogurt and Bircher Muesli

IMG_1742

IMG_1743

By this time, I was so full, but the show must go on.

Main Course: Kassler Ham Steak and Poached Egg with mornay sauce, roasted tomato, spinach and sauteed potato.

IMG_1746

And the poached eggs?… To perfection, again!

IMG_1748

Verdict for Breakfast service: Being the last to be served (reverse of dinner sequence), they forgot to give me my yogurt. A bit disheartened when I saw my neighbour enjoying hers… But other than that, as you could expect, excellent food (except the impossible potato… You just cannot have freshly made sauteed potato on board, so SQ is forgiven)

45 minutes to go!

IMG_1749

Legroom shot during landing

IMG_1754

Welcome to Singapore!

IMG_1755

Parked into the furthest B gates! B10

IMG_1757

Thank you 9V-SNA for an absolutely remarkable ride!

IMG_1758

 

Perfect

This is as good a flight you can get anywhere. Fine wine and dine, a wide and large seat, privacy and responsive crew. The SQ J product is as good as some other airlines’s First Class product (minus the caviar plus the satay).

Some complain about needing to flip the seat for the bed, but I find having a bed sheet and a more comfortable bed (rather than the leather seat) much better. The newly added lazy-z position is also very comfortable for watching TV / reading.

Food-wise: I cannot complain. While the wine list is the same as the January ones, I generally find the wine selected of extra high quality so the lack of variety is compensated with quality. Would I rather have an A La Carte menu like on QR? I think some passengers on this flight might given that they fell asleep right after take off, but I liked the service sequence. But indeed this is something to think about, especially for the red-eye that runs from SIN to LHR.

Crew was professional but can sometimes feel a bit distant – but it was a long flight, so as long as I was served, no complaints again.

Overall, it was a perfect flight.

4 thoughts on “Undoubtedly the Best Business Class

  1. Pingback: A pleasant experience on BA’s Club World Business Class – View from the Sky

  2. Pingback: BA Dreamliner to Kuala Lumpur – View from the Sky

  3. Pingback: Tier Points running to Jakarta – Part 1 – View from the Sky

Leave a Reply

