A short hop to Stockholm on BA’s 767

Travelling from Cambridge to Heathrow on a Monday morning guarantees some sort of travel congestion on the way. But a winter morning also guarantees quite a stunning sunrise outside of Cambridge:

3.5 hours later, I arrived into BA’s Terminal 5 for my flight to Stockholm. The Christmas decoration was in full force it being early December

As an OneWorld Ruby member, I checked in at Pier H, the Club counters. Minimal queues during lunch time on a Monday. Was in and out really quickly – got my boarding pass and luggage checked through. The agent also was kind enough to give me a priority tag.

I quickly went through security and got myself a lunch deal at Boot’s. I finished it rather quickly and got to my gate a few minutes ahead of boarding time.

As it turned out, the flight was rather full and they were looking for volunteers to gate check their bags. I jumped at the chance seeing that I had a rather heavy handcarry bag.

My bird today – a Boeing 767

Seats in 2-3-2 layout – pretty standard

View from my seat

With no inflight entertainment offered except your seatback magazines, I got a book from WH Smith as my entertainment, a book which I highly recommend: it is well written and thought-provoking

We departed on time and it was a short taxi to the runway

Refreshments were offered quickly and it would my last BA intra-Europe economy flights where food would be offered for free

Food was nice though the portion size is pitiful

Another good inflight entertainment is outside of the window

2 hours into the flight, we started our descent into Stockholm

The flight arrived on time – immigration had a long queue but I was through to luggage reclaim in 20 minutes and I waited for another 10 minutes for my bags.

BA does the job. I bagged an extra legroom seat – that was definitely the icing on the cake. At 6500 avios, I think the flight was a steal: I checked two bags in, I got to Stockholm on time and the seat was very comfortable in a 2-3-2 configuration. The service was the typical BA fare – very chippy and friendly – but the offering is quite painful when compared to the Asian carriers. Would definitely fly BA again with the award availability rather good for off-peak periods.

Seeing that this is such a brief report, I include some highlights of my day off in Stockholm:

Gamla Stan (Old Town)

Christmas is all around…

The Royal Garden and Ice Rink: I would be back in the evening and partake in some ice-skating

Bridge to another island…

I took refuge from the cold weather (-5 degrees) in the subway stations:

City Hall

Ice skating and carols:

Christmas market in the Old Town

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

