BA Dreamliner to Kuala Lumpur

Picking off from where we left off, I looked at the departure FIDS just to make sure that my flight would depart from Terminal 5.

BA701

Heading to the transit bus

BA701

BA701

The bus affords some good plane spotting

BA701

BA701

Arriving into Terminal 5

BA701

My flight would depart from gate B48 so I left for the B gates

The irony of seeing this advertisement in a predominantly BA terminal

The B gates lounge

The food offering was… meh… there were only sandwiches and cakes on offer – no real hot item despite nearing dinner hours

My selection

I flagged down an attendant for some champagne. I asked for a glass and he insisted on bringing two – saying that I needed that!

The saving grace of the lounge was that it was rather quiet

At about the boarding time, I headed to the gate

To my surprise, there was no queue at the gate, which was unusual – passengers seemed to really love the idea of queuing up to board the flight. I would later discover a rather light flight awaiting me: full in First, about 70% in Club, about 20% in World Traveller Plus and another 20% for World Traveller.

My plane was the further one

The boarding sequence

My plane

I was the first to board the airplane

My seat for the flight – 6A

An empty Club cabin (for now). For its 787, BA retained the yin-yang design from 2006 and opted for a 2-3-2 configuration. 7 seats a row is rather bad given that airlines like JAL opted for 8 seats per row for their economy cabin.

My view

The usual pre-departure beverages were offered

The IFE was available gate to gate

The menu for tonight

The legroom

We left 20 minutes behind schedule as some passengers did not make the flight and their bags were offloaed

Safety demonstration soon after

We took off about 40 minutes behind schedule

The privacy screen was up once the safety demonstration was over

Last view of England

My first movie…

The amenity kit (washbag) was offered

Its content

Hot towel

Pre-dinner drinks

More nuts as I was very hungry

The starter plate: it was really not bad but would love a plate for the bread.

The main: Satay Chicken rice. Overcooked and poorly seasoned. I do hope the new Club World investment meant better main choices

By this time, we are well into our flight

https://flic.kr/p/SZRBq9

The cheesecake was divine… but I hate the fact that I could only choose between dessert, cheese and fruits, when I could have all three on Cathay

Tea to end

I then made my bed for the night. I had about 4 hours of sleep and woke up with the sun high up in the sky

I was hungry and got some snacks – I must say I was rather taken aback by the lack of food in Club Kitchen despite it only being halfway through the flight

Club Kitchen

And seriously – serving tea in Club with paper cups?

Time for another movie

2 hours left!

With 1.5 hours to go, breakfast was served

I asked for a Buck’s Fizz to go with, especially given it would be early afternoon already in KL

cheers!

The main was exactly the one I had on BA27 last June – quite interesting how the menu for breakfast was almost nearly the same!

Approaching Malaysia

In descent

The full route for the day

The KL airport

My chariot of the day

I arrived into KL a bit over 30 minutes late, hoping to just go to the gate of my next flight on Cathay Dragon to Hong Kong only to find that that flight was delayed for nearly an hour! Well at least there is a lounge!

Verdict? The 787 was surely quiet and quite pleasant. The Club World cabin was a bit dense and could feel claustrophobic at times. The lack of storage space and lack of space to manoeuvre were also problematic on such a long flight if one wanted to work or to stretch out. The service was okay if a bit slow – which was really not understandable given the light load across the flight. The catering was a passable attempt for most part. It was a pleasant ride no less, but there are surely better ways to fly.

See my flight with Singapore Airlines on a flight: LHR–SIN

 

Leave a Reply

