BA Euro Traveller & Club Europe to/from Vienna

This is a short report featuring a return trip to and from Vienna that begins my ex-EU trip to Hong Kong. I flew out in Euro Traveller (which is BA’s regional Economy Class – though more akin to LCC now as they charge for food and drinks on board). BA operates some of their flights out of Terminal 3 and Vienna is one of these ‘special’ flights. I do like the idea of flying out of Terminal 3 as it means I can access to Cathay lounge, which was indeed very nice.

I arrived about three hours prior to the flight at Terminal 3 via National Express on quite a gloomy day.

BA706

BA706

BA706

BA’s Check-in area

BA706

Priority lane was quite empty

BA706

Soon enough I got my boarding pass and my bags were all tagged priority. I was then told I should use the Fast Track for security.

BA706

Fast Track security was a breeze. It took a mere 5 minute, which was a record for me in Terminal 3. I do thank my OneWorld Sapphire card! In no time, I was in the Cathay lounge enjoying the Cathay-branded brew – the Betsy Beer.

As part of the ‘Life Well Travelled’ campaign, Cathay introduces the ‘Betsy beer’ which is ‘a high-quality craft ale that has travel in its DNA’. Uniquely the beer has three ingredients: dragon eye, Hong Kong honey and fuggle. It was very unique in taste and rather sweet – not a fan, but good to try.

BA706

The sun breaks through

BA706

One hour prior to boarding, I moved over to the dining area to get some food. I asked for some sparkling water and white wine to go with my dinner.

BA706

My selection: I must say that the food quality has improved appreciably since I was last here in December. Very enjoyable, indeed.

BA706

My gate today

BA706

The flight was to be very full and I got a text message that I could check my cabin luggage in as well.

The gate agents did not have much success in getting people to check their bags, in part because if they are travelling on hand-baggage-only fare, they would not want to wait for the bags at Vienna. Given that I had two other bags in the hold, I was happy enough to offer to check my hand baggage, which was met with appreciation by the gate agent!

BA706

Boarding began soon after

BA706

BA706

I bagged an exit row window seat, which in my opinion, had a much better legroom than some of the Club Europe (Business Class) seats!

BA706

BA706

The flight left on time and arrived pretty much on time

BA706

BA706

BA706

BA706

BA706

This is my first flight featuring the M&S Buy On Board program, although I did not partake

BA706

BA706

BA706

I do like the idea of being able to pay with avios!

The flight was short – just under two hours – and soon enough, we began our descent into Vienna.

BA706

BA706

Vienna was very picturesque and I was blessed with very good weather. I had a nice long stroll in the loop and it was rather refreshing.

Belvedere Palace

Burggarten

Somewhere medieval

Somewhere old

It was a satisfying stroll

I began my travel to Asia the following day after a whole day stay in Vienna. I took the train from the City to the airport

BA701

And this is the arrivals hall

BA701

Like the other ports I have visited, BA only has three counters for check-in

BA701

The FIDS

BA701

The lounge was alright – not much food and beverage. I just used the free wifi and did some emails

The flight was calling at gate D29, which was a bus gate

BA701

BA701

BA701

BA701

BA701

BA701

BA701

View from my seat

BA701

Legroom from row 1

BA701

Take-off

BA701

BA701

BA701

BA701

Hot towel was offered

BA701

The view makes up for the lack of inflight entertainment

BA701

BA701

BA701

Club Europe was half full today and service was fast, efficient and personal… exemplified by having two scones! (This would be my last flight was the old Club Europe catering – will miss the scones!)

BA701

BA701

Toasting to a good trip

BA701

After afternoon tea, we were nearing London

BA701

BA701

BA701

BA701

BA701

The descent into Heathrow made for great sightseeing

BA701

BA701

BA701

BA701

BA701

BA701

BA701

The Concorde!

BA701

Landed

BA701

We were parked next to the JAL flight to Haneda

BA701

BA701

Next time I will pick up on my connection to Terminal 5 and my flight to Kuala Lumpur on BA’s Dreamliner in Club World Business Class.

Verdict? BA’s new Economy concept seems to be working well – there were plenty of orders for food and drinks. I like the idea of being able to pay with avios and I think the avios/cash conversion is very reasonable. Of course, paying at all is undesirable and I will continue to eat up in the lounge and fill up my water bottle before flying with BA on Economy; but I will be open to the idea of purchasing on board when I have to.

BA’s old Club Europe catering suits me well, but perhaps not for the gentleman across the row from me who did not appreciate the lack of choice for afternoon tea. I like the bulkhead seat which has good legroom – but this is nothing compared to the regional seats in Asia or even in the USA.

 

 

Leave a Reply

